Books · Interview · Recommendation

Q&A with Reesha Goral, Author of The Servant Boy

Hello, everyone. I’m featuring a debut author interview which could be a great resource for future writers and readers. As for writers, the interview would give you some insight and inspiration from a successful author. For the readers, it could give you much information before reading The Servant Boy and also determine whether you would like to read more of Reesha Goral’s works in the future.


Reesha Goral is the author of The Servant Boy (DecemberEuropeans2016), a novel that highlights the adventure of Zayne Shah, a young man who lives through the most horrific disaster in his village, Saidpur, that has ever seen. For a full review, you can visit my post here. It has made its debut in Istanbul, Turkey too. Visit her at reeshagoral.com

 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

 

The Servant Boy portrays so many focuses such as social class, Pakistan’s culture, religious values, Myth and Fantasy. What led you to write about this?

“First, I’d like to thank you for interviewing me, the honor is truly mine.

Secondly, I have to say that when an author writes a book, the writing is directly or indirectly impacted by their world view. So this was mine. Growing up I went to visit my grandparents quite often and got a first-rate view of Pakistan. Also, my heritage is South Asian (Pakistani): and the religiosity element is closely tied to that. I can speak, read and write in Urdu along with three other languages. Those factors definitely impacted the culture of the novel.

For the myth and fantasy elements—I have, to be honest with you and say that I just wrote whatever came to me. When I first started writing, I had no idea that it was going to have elements of myth and fantasy in it—but it did. And I’m glad it did because I wanted to challenge my own story and have many different components to it. I personally love fantasy and myth (one of my favorite pastimes is reading books that fall under the genre).

And as far as social class goes-I have to say there is a disparaging opinion on the lower class in many parts of the world. In many parts of the world(not only in Pakistan, and just like in every part of the world, this belief does not exist in every household and can exist in any household [even in America]),  the lower class( the people who attain some of the lowest incomes and have barely enough to survive) are treated like they should be dispensed like a piece of gum at the bottom of one’s shoe. I really wanted to talk about this because of it’s something so very much alive even today, in 2017. We are all on this earth to serve another: we’re public servants. A housekeeper may be serving the home’s owner, but the homeowner, who may be the CEO of a software company, is serving the people he is making the software for. It’s a cycle, an ongoing, beautiful cycle.”

 

What kind of research did you do before writing it? Was it mostly online research or a practical one?

“ I have to say I did a lot of research and all sorts of it: Personal, online, from books, and from personal and public people sources.  It took me two and a half years to write the novel. You would think that a fiction novel wouldn’t require research, but it does. I’m sure most fiction authors can attest to this.

Although hardly any piece of writing can ever be perfect, as books are written by people and we are full of flaws, I wanted it to put in all my effort until it was perfect enough for me. “

 

What is the main thing you want readers to take from The Servant Boy?

“There are so, so many things I want readers to take away from this. And to be honest, every day I learn more about my writing from people like you—it’s readers.

Some of those takeaways are—

That everyone can make a difference and everyone matters.

Eternal happiness only comes through servitude and helping each other.

At times we think our current circumstances will make us stagnant and miserable for the rest of our lives, but that’s rarely true and sometimes your future can surprise you.

Your current circumstances do not define your potential and what you can become.

Beauty is subjective.

If you put your entire passion and hard work into something, you will see its grand results in time.

And so much more: you may be surprised and find your takeaway! “

 

Have you got a writer’s block while you was writing The Servant Boy? How do you deal with it?

“Yes, so many times. I used various methods to combat it, but one of the most common was taking a walk on the beach. Also taking a break and grabbing some coffee with a friend was very helpful.”

 

Who are some authors that inspire you to write?

“ Oh god, there are so many! All the way from JK Rowling to Ernest Hemingway.”

 

The Servant Boy was published and translated in Turkey last year. Do you have a plan to translate and publish it in another language?

“Yes! Along with being published in English and in Turkish I do plan on being published in additional languages and countries. “

 

What are you working on now? Will we be seeing anything new from you in the next following year?

“I’m working on a new novel: this one may fall under mystery as well. But it will be very much different than my previous. The plot should be appealing to those that enjoy a  fresh perspective, which is my focus when I write.  The story will set somewhere in Europe, although I’m not sure where specifically. Also, this time around the protagonist will be a female. And another BIG reveal: it may even be a saga.

I really can’t promise a timeframe. This one will take me a bit longer, because I’m a mother  now, and secondly, I’m working on a few other projects as well. But I do have to say that in the upcoming years you will be seeing a lot more of me, god willing.”

 

How can readers discover more about you and your work?

“ The best way is through the internet. You should be able to find me if you search my name or book names.

The Servant Boy is currently available in its home country (America) almost everywhere books are sold: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, eBay, etc. It is also being sold at most major online retailers worldwide( As far as I know it’s now available in Japan, India, Germany(and most european countries), almost every country that has Amazon, and now,  also Indonesia!

And Usak, which is in Turkish, is available through most online retailers as well: D&R bookstore, Amazon, Etc.

My upcoming work will also be available through these mediums.

And for a more personal feel of my work, I now have an instagram account @reeshagoralauthor  so you can add me on there as well.

And my web page is ReeshaGoral.com “

 

 

 

Tinggalkan Balasan

